Information on:

La Luz De Jesus Gallery

La Luz De Jesus Gallery
4633 Hollywood Boulevard
323-666-7667

History

La Luz de Jesus Gallery came to be in 1986 in Los Angeles, California as the brainchild of entrepreneur and art collector Billy Shire. Shire is considered hugely responsible for fostering a new school of art in Los Angeles prompting JUXTAPOZ Magazine to dub him "the Peggy Guggenheim of Lowbrow."

La Luz de Jesus showcases mostly paintings, from figurative to the very abstract, as well as unusual sculpture. The exhibitions are considered post-pop; the art content ranges from folk to outsider to religious to sexually deviant. The gallery's main objective is to bring underground artists and counter culture to the masses.

Some of the past shows have been quite groundbreaking, introducing unknown artists who go on to become great names in the modern art world. La Luz de Jesus helped start out artists such as Manual Ocampo and Joe Coleman, and hosted Robert Williams' art exhibits before he became a household name.

The gallery shows a different exhibit every month, with an opening reception that Details Magazine calls "the biggest and best party in Los Angeles."



La Luz De Jesus Gallery is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at La Luz De Jesus Gallery

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 2, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Opening Reception: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 2, 2020 from 8:00pm to 11:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Sunday, May 3, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Sunday, May 3, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Monday, May 4, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Monday, May 4, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Tuesday, May 5, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Tuesday, May 5, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Wednesday, May 6, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Wednesday, May 6, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Thursday, May 7, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Thursday, May 7, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Friday, May 8, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Friday, May 8, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 9, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Saturday, May 9, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Sunday, May 10, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Sunday, May 10, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Monday, May 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Monday, May 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Thursday, May 14, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Thursday, May 14, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Friday, May 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Friday, May 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Saturday, May 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Sunday, May 17, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Sunday, May 17, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Monday, May 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Monday, May 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Thursday, May 21, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Thursday, May 21, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Friday, May 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Friday, May 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Saturday, May 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Sunday, May 24, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Sunday, May 24, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Monday, May 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Monday, May 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Wednesday, May 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Thursday, May 28, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Thursday, May 28, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Friday, May 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Friday, May 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Saturday, May 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Saturday, May 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Leegan Koo-Almost Blue

Sunday, May 31, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Tom Neely-The Art of The Last Book on the Left

Sunday, May 31, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Opening Reception - Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Saturday, Jun 6, 2020 from 8:00pm to 11:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Sunday, Jun 7, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Monday, Jun 8, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Tuesday, Jun 9, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Wednesday, Jun 10, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Thursday, Jun 11, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Friday, Jun 12, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Saturday, Jun 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Sunday, Jun 14, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Monday, Jun 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Wednesday, Jun 17, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Thursday, Jun 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Friday, Jun 19, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Saturday, Jun 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Sunday, Jun 21, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Monday, Jun 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Thursday, Jun 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Friday, Jun 26, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Saturday, Jun 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Sunday, Jun 28, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Monday, Jun 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Wednesday, Jul 1, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Thursday, Jul 2, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Friday, Jul 3, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Saturday, Jul 4, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Women of the Sun: Bunny Yeager in Mexico

Sunday, Jul 5, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Opening Reception: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Saturday, Jul 11, 2020 from 8:00pm to 11:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Sunday, Jul 12, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Monday, Jul 13, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Wednesday, Jul 15, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Thursday, Jul 16, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Friday, Jul 17, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Saturday, Jul 18, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Sunday, Jul 19, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Monday, Jul 20, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Tuesday, Jul 21, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Thursday, Jul 23, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Friday, Jul 24, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Monday, Jul 27, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Tuesday, Jul 28, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 from 11:00am to 7:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Friday, Jul 31, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Saturday, Aug 1, 2020 from 11:00am to 9:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Exhibition: Mark Gleason-Wilderness

Sunday, Aug 2, 2020 from 12:00pm to 6:00pm
Los Angeles, CA
Read More »

Photos